Bitstamp was founded in 2011, which makes it one of the oldest crypto exchanges still in business, and since June 2025 it has belonged to Robinhood Markets, the Nasdaq-listed US broker, which paid about $200 million for it. This Bitstamp review finds an exchange built for trust rather than breadth: it holds a MiCA licence in Luxembourg, a MiFID trading-venue licence in Slovenia, a New York BitLicense and approvals in the UK and Singapore. In return, users accept a short list of roughly 93 coins and entry fees of 0.30% maker and 0.40% taker, which is high next to offshore rivals.
Bitstamp at a glance
| Item | Details (November 2026) |
|---|---|
| Founded | 2011 |
| Owner | Robinhood Markets, Inc. (deal completed June 2025) |
| Main EU licence | MiCA CASP, Luxembourg CSSF (May 2025) |
| Other licences | MiFID MTF (Slovenia), NY BitLicense, FCA, MAS |
| Coins / pairs | 93 coins, 178 pairs (CoinGecko) |
| Spot fees | From 0.30% maker / 0.40% taker |
| Fiat | USD, EUR, GBP |
| Minimum order | $10 |
| CoinGecko Trust Score | 9/10 |
Regulation and safety
Licensing is the main reason to pick Bitstamp, and the coverage is unusually wide. In May 2025 Luxembourg’s Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier granted Bitstamp a MiCA crypto-asset service provider licence, which it passports across the European Economic Area. Earlier, in October 2024, Slovenia’s Securities Market Agency gave Bitstamp a MiFID II multilateral trading facility licence, the basis for regulated crypto derivatives in the EU.
In the United States, Bitstamp USA, Inc. holds a BitLicense from the New York State Department of Financial Services and is registered with FinCEN. UK customers are served by Bitstamp UK, registered with the FCA under the Money Laundering Regulations since June 2023, which is an anti-money-laundering registration rather than full investor protection. In Singapore, Bitstamp Asia Pte. Ltd. holds a Digital Payment Token licence from MAS. Your rights depend on which of these entities holds your account.
The security record is not spotless. In January 2015 roughly 19,000 BTC were stolen from a hot wallet after a phishing attack on staff. Bitstamp has not reported a comparable breach since, and it was later chosen to help distribute Mt. Gox repayments in 2024. One gap: we found no regular Merkle-tree proof-of-reserves report from Bitstamp, unlike several competitors; its assurance rests mainly on regulation and Robinhood’s ownership.
Trading fees
Bitstamp prices spot trades on a maker-taker schedule tied to your 30-day volume across all pairs. The first tier is expensive, but costs fall steadily, and FX and stablecoin pairs (such as EUR/USD or USDC/USD) cost 80% less than the standard rates. Tiers below are as of November 2026; check the official website for the current schedule.
| 30-day volume | Maker | Taker |
|---|---|---|
| Entry tier | 0.30% | 0.40% |
| $10,000+ | 0.20% | 0.30% |
| $100,000+ | 0.10% | 0.20% |
| $1.5M+ | 0.06% | 0.16% |
| $1B+ | 0.00% | 0.03% |
For this Bitstamp review we priced a typical small trade, and small traders feel these rates most. A $1,000 market buy at the entry tier costs about $4, against $1 on exchanges charging 0.10%. Active users who post limit orders and climb the volume tiers can bring costs down sharply.
Funding: deposits and withdrawals
Bitstamp supports three fiat currencies: US dollars, euros and pounds. SEPA deposits are free and SEPA withdrawals cost €3. US customers can use ACH in both directions at no charge. International wires and card purchases are possible but cost more; outgoing international wires have been charged at 0.1% with a $25 minimum. UK users can fund by Faster Payments. Crypto deposits are free and withdrawals carry a per-coin network fee. There is no minimum deposit, but the smallest order is $10.
Products: spot, staking and derivatives
CoinGecko lists 93 coins and 178 pairs, focused on major assets rather than new tokens. Beyond spot trading, Bitstamp offers staking on a small number of assets, with availability restricted in some regions including parts of the US, and a lending product in selected countries. Using its MiFID licence, Bitstamp now offers perpetual futures to eligible EU customers; most other users have no access to margin or derivatives. Bitstamp does not run a P2P marketplace.
The platform has a web interface, a more advanced trading view, mobile apps for iOS and Android, and APIs. Institutional clients can use dedicated custody and liquidity services.
Account opening and KYC
Identity verification is mandatory before trading. Basic verification requires proof of identity; proof of residence unlocks higher withdrawal limits, reported at $50,000 and $250,000 per 24 hours for the two levels. Products and listed assets vary by country, and sanctioned jurisdictions are blocked.
Who Bitstamp suits
- Suits: European, UK and US investors who rank licensing and a long track record above coin choice.
- Suits: users moving euros or dollars in and out often, thanks to free SEPA and ACH deposits.
- Avoid: small, frequent traders who would pay 0.40% per taker order.
- Avoid: altcoin hunters and anyone outside the EU who wants leverage.
Final verdict on this Bitstamp review
Bitstamp is a conservative choice: 15 years of operation, ownership by a listed US broker and licences from regulators in Luxembourg, Slovenia, New York, the UK and Singapore. Fees start high at 0.30%/0.40%, the coin list is around 93 assets and there is no regular proof-of-reserves report. We rate Bitstamp 3.4 out of 5, a sound fit for long-term buyers who value regulation. Crypto prices are volatile and no licence removes market risk, so invest only what you can afford to lose.
Compare Bitstamp by Robinhood with the other top crypto exchanges, or read our Gate review and MEXC review.
FAQ
Who owns Bitstamp?
Bitstamp has been owned by Robinhood Markets, Inc. since June 2025, when Robinhood completed its roughly $200 million acquisition. The exchange keeps its own brand and operates as Bitstamp by Robinhood.
Is Bitstamp regulated?
Yes. It holds a MiCA crypto-asset service provider licence from Luxembourg’s CSSF, a MiFID II MTF licence from Slovenia’s Securities Market Agency, a New York BitLicense for Bitstamp USA, Inc., an FCA cryptoasset registration in the UK and a MAS licence for Bitstamp Asia Pte. Ltd. in Singapore.
What are Bitstamp’s trading fees?
Spot fees are tiered by 30-day volume, starting at 0.30% maker and 0.40% taker and falling to 0.00% maker and 0.03% taker for the largest traders. FX and stablecoin pairs get an 80% discount.
Can I trade with leverage on Bitstamp?
Only in a limited way. Bitstamp’s MiFID licence lets it offer perpetual futures to eligible EU customers, but there is no margin or derivatives trading for most other regions, and leverage limits were not published in the sources we checked.
Has Bitstamp ever been hacked?
Yes. In January 2015 about 19,000 BTC were stolen from a Bitstamp hot wallet after a phishing attack. The exchange has not reported a comparable breach since then.
Facts compiled on 8 November 2026 from the official website, regulator registers and independent reviews listed in the sources. Fees and conditions change; confirm on the official site before opening an account.
